cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 7942/62 phones stuck in upgrading

ionicpolarity
Level 1
Level 1

As the title states some phones we have purchased from authorized Cisco refurbished partner are 7942 and 62.

Call manager is 8.5.1

Switches are Extreme

Firmware version is "UNKNOWN" as the phones go immediately to upgrading, ip is not accessible from browser either.

There is no security files to delete in the menu because it can't be reached, even on phones that I can get to the menu they have been cleared of all settings and still nothing.

IP is coming from extreme core switch with option 150, this could be the problem. We are school district and I am a contractor. The schools decided that they would get rid of the Cisco network and go with extreme due to clever sales(Not my advice) and now we have this issue. 

10 Replies 10

ionicpolarity
Level 1
Level 1

Also, the phones we buy that do work are running SCCP9.3.1SR1 our CUCM is running SCCP42.8-5-2s
I had the idea to downgrade manually using TFTP32 on cisco switch. Everytime I try this the phones will not see tftp. Im sure im missing something here, any adivce would be great.

PS. I have tried all the upgrade/downgrade steps that Cisco gives as far as doing it on call manager using their tftp upload and change device defaults. 

Hello,

My name is Rozana and i am an engineer from the SBSC team.

The CP phones, especially those running with a Call Manager, are supported by our enterprise team.
I advise you to open a thread in their section, so they could assist you.

Regards.

I consider, it's better to move this thread to appropriate community.

I will do it within few seconds.

Thanks for being useless just like last time!

I opened the thread in the IP TEL section, should I open it on mars?

If the phones are stuck in upgrade, start with checking the folllowing:

- From the switch, use sh cdp ne det to see if the phone gets and IP address