cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco IOS newbie - new model phone needing config in existing environment

JasonSala
Level 1
Level 1

The company I work for is a medium sized business that hires one person as an internal support/helpdesk/sys admin rotating them in and out once per year.  It's my luck that it's my turn and ALL of our businesses information technology needs fall on my shoulders.  I'm pretty solid when it comes to just about most systems a company needs to function.....all except Cisco IOS.  I'm a super newbie when it comes to managing our cisco devices.

The situation I'm in..... Our CEO demanded we purchase a 7921g and get it set up for him so he can waltz around the office on his phone without having a dorky plantronics headset or something similar.  Fine and good so I researched a bit before we made the purchase.  Found that Call Manager 4.1 does support the 7921g and that they function better on Cisco aironet wireless access points which we just so happen to have.  I assumed I'd load up some software either on the call manager or on the phone itself, tell it where to look for the call manager and I'd be set.  I'm still pretty confident that this is super easy and I'm making this WAY harder than it needs to be but I'm still stuck.  I've googled around and searched through forums but the problem I'm running into is that many guides assume familiarity with Cisco IOS and end up being half greek to me. 

We're using Call Manager 4.1  (Unity express 2.1 that's not working right now I think)

The new device is a 7921g but I imagine the process would be the same for any new model phone

The software I have for the phone is a CP7921g-1.2.1.TAR  

I've been able to get get the TAR into the call manager's flash sucessfully

I can ssh to the call managger no problem but am not familiar with the commands.  I can also get into the web interface that has a command line in it.