Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Codec interworking from analog lines to voice

Dear community,

I am new to ip telephony and voice over ip in general. I am currently working in a setup connecting two routers between each other and attaching one of them to the pstn over two FXO connection and the second router has two analog phones. I need to know how the codecs work in this setup since the analog phones use G.711 by defaul and the dial-peer between the routers use g728 by default. I am wondering how in this case the communication is possible. Is there some transconding behind the scene that I am not aware of? I am not usind codec classes and I am not forcing the dial-peer to use g711 but it is working. The routers I am using are 2811. I will really appreciate if you can point me some information to help me understand how codec works from analog to ip and viceversa.

Best Regards,

Rafael.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rafael,

Nothing is using G711, you have only 2 call legs, POTS leg which is TDM signaling in this case analog line, which uses TDM PCM encoding (you can compare it to G711) and one voip call leg which is using G729. The transcoding is taking place on the voice port itself when TDM signalling is converted to voip signalling, but keep in mind there is no voip transcoding from one codec to another in this scenario.

DSP farms would be required if you needed to transcode voip call legs, for example when 2 endpoints cannot negotiate codec, a good example is an IP-IVR system that can be defined with only one codec, you would need to transcode that if calls are set to use another codec.

HTH, please ratea all useful posts!

Chris

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Chris Deren
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame