cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CP-7931g in upgrading mode - Don't know IP

buddieipx
Level 1
Level 1

First off, I'm sorry if this post is in the wrong area, I'm new at this.

I have a CP-6931g phone which was in static ip address config when I received it used. I didn't pay close attention to the address settings before did a reset command (123456789*0#) and now the phone is stuck  saying "upgrading) and waiting to download a file from tftp.

I have no idea what the subnet was for sure and have spent hours trying different subnets and watching Wireshark/IP Scanner with no luck.

I am not worried about it as this phone is worth about 20$ but I am the kind of guy that hates just saying "oh well"! It will bug me, I like to fix things!

Am I right in believing that there is no way to scan anything other than the subnet I have set my nic to ?

Thanks for anyone who is bored and has time to mess with my junk.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

Does this mean that all switch ports are down by default?

<Answer> : On a PoE switch all the ports are up by default. When you connect a phone to one of the ports, it transfers the power to the phone. You can use the following command on the switch to check the total power allocated and remaining:

show power inline

Can I simply replace the files on the removable flash to upgrade/downgrade phone firmware? Will the phone always update from flash if the files are different?

<Answer> If the phone is stuck in upgrading the firmware, that means it is trying to download a firmware which is specified in the configuration file of the phone. If the phone is unable to find the same then it stuck on that screen.