cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CUBE, SIPS & non-secure phones

Gordon Ross
Level 9
Level 9

I've got a CUBE (IOS-XE 17) & CUCM (12.5) connected via a secure SIP trunk.

Calls to/from the SIP trunk from/to a phone with a secure Device Security Profile work fine. But calls to/from a phone with an insecure Device Security Profile fail. (Calls between secure & unsecure phones work fine too)

What do I need to do to allow this secure SIP trunk to talk to an unsecure phone?

Please rate all helpful posts.
4 Replies 4

Adam Pawlowski
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I’ve just set this up myself recently in the lab so I am no pro - however if you configure srtp, the command to enable I believe needs to be “srtp fallback” otherwise it will not allow it. 

I tested the configuration, it is "srtp fallback" which can be applied at the sip service level globally or at the peer. The caution is that "no srtp fallback" seems to become "no srtp" in the configuration which is not what you want, and srtp by itself doesn't allow fallback.

That should work as long as it is allowed on all the other applicable parts to allow non secured call to traverse the trunk or complete.

Gordon Ross
Level 9
Level 9

I've tried the "srtp fallback"option but a 7941 with an unsecure profile can't answer the call. A 7811 with a secure profile can answer the call (and I get the padlock symbol)

Please rate all helpful posts.

Adam Pawlowski
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Gordon,

I apologize I'm not an expert in this area, I based testing on a secured 8841 and non-secured Jabber client, and followed these instructions for configuration:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/ios-xml/ios/voice/cube/configuration/cube-book/srtp-rtp-interworking.html