Views
Helpful
Replies

CUCM Cluster implementation

jones.jack
Level 1
Level 1

Hello experts

i have a big customer who have (one pub and one sub) one unity conn and one CUP , all version are v8.6  . All systems are working so well.

The customer asked us for a cluster for 10,000 phones , so our presales team helped him for a solution which will be like as the below:-

1-CUCM Pub.

1-CUCM TFTP.

3- 5* CUCM sub.

all these servers are the same version of the old.

My questions are:-

1-What is the perfect plan to backup configuration from the running system  to the new system ?.

2-What is the most perfect solution to configure  new cluster?.This is my first time to configure some thing like that , some friends told me that only backup from the old solution and restore to the new system , after that all will be ok , but i do not understand how can i divide my configuration through t7 servers.

Thanks

6 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

I am assuming one of the 7 servers is the Pub, in which case I would not turn on CM service on it as for such large deployments it is not recommended/supported, thus the pub would not participate in call processing, hence no worry about CUCM groups for it.

The remaining 6 servers can be configured as following to get full usage of call processing/media recources/tftp/etc:

CM1 - Pub

CM2 - Sub primary call processor

CM3 - Sub primary call processor

CM4 - Sub backup call processor

CM5 - Sub backup call processor

CM6 - primary TFTP/backup media resource

CM7 - backup TFTP/primary media resource

Where your CUCM groups would look like this:

Group 1 - CM2, CM4, CM5

Group 2 - CM3, CM5, CM4

CM1, 6,7 would not have CM service running, hence would not be assigned as call processors.

HTH,

Chris

View solution in original post

1- CCM 1 ,6 and 7 , no services (you means that the services will be deactivated , that do not access servicability for the both servers)?.