Views
Helpful
Replies

Help needed for 7961G & 7945 G

mansoorms
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have 2 cisco IP phones 7961g & 7945g.Both of these were used at different branch were the CUCM is placed.

We have VPN connectivity to that branch,so we thought of placing these 2 phones at our branch.

when i powered the IP phones( thru PoE switch) it started normally but was strucked at configuring ip.

when i checked the phone all the sttings were related to the previous branch.One of my friend suggested me to reset the phones by 123456789*0#.

After resetting both the phones the problem started :

1. the 7961 shows a blank screen after

2. the 7945 shows upgrading n nothing happens after that.

Please help me as i'm new to voice n this is the first time i was assigned this task.

We r using CUCM 7.0(6).

5 Replies 5

Terry Cheema
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If you had plugged the working phones from other site as you have mentioned - They already had the correct firmware. It looks like your phones are not able to contact CUCM. Can you make sure the dhcp for the phones has the correct option 150 set to CUCM? In case, traffic is going through a firewall make sure CUCM is allowed.

Your phones are not dead, once you sort out connectivity to CUCM, they should be able to download firmware. There are other ways also to put the firmware back, But I would suggest resolving the connectivity to CUCM as without that your phones will not register to CUCM even if they have downloaded the firmware.

You can recover from blank screen if you want by downloading the firmware on your pc and using tftpd32 (http://www.zenbix.com/cisco/how-to-fix-upgrading-blank-screen-on-cisco-ip-7961g-7941g-7970.html). But this will just put firmware back and phones will not register unless they can contact CUCM. Or if you take them back to original or other working sites, they will download the firmware and will be fine again.

Terry

Hi Terry,