cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help on upgrade of 8961 firmware from v9.0-1SR1 to v9.0.4 in UCM 7.1.3

TelTechN2deep
Level 1
Level 1

Help!  I've never done this before and from what I'm reading this has to be done from either a FTP/SFTP or TFTP server.  Right?  After the code is installed you must restart the TFTP service and each UCM server in the cluster?  How do I find out where the needed FTP/SFTP or TFTP server UCM is talking to is located?  Thanks...

11 Replies 11

TelTechN2deep
Level 1
Level 1

Thanks Art, that link did indeed help!  Funny thing is that I had read that doc before but had scanned through so quick I missed it!

Can anyone confirm that after the firmware load is on all UCM servers, the TFTP has to be restarted AS WELL AS the UCM itself?  If so, this also has to be on each server, right?  Also, can this be something that is scheduled or has to be manual?

Thanks

Hi, glad it helped

My understanding is that you do NOT need to stop/start the CUCM, only the TFTP service and only on the CUCMs that it is active on.  Chances are it is only active on 2 CUCMs in the cluster (unless this is a biggee).

HTH,

Art

You're correct; only the TFTP service needs to be restarted. The reason for this is that all of the files are loaded into memory at service startup to improve performance. The install scripts update the file system but these changes are not picked up by the service until a process restart.

TelTechN2deep
Level 1
Level 1

I can see the files in the "TFTP File Management" but I'm still not seeing this current file as the load looking at the Device Defaults.  I've already restarted the TFTP service twice but it doesn't seem to take hold.  I seem to remember reading something about having to restart the server for these type of firmware files on this phone.  (.cop.sgn - - files)  Is this all that it is or am I doing something wrong?  I am thinking I'm seeing them there correctly, but in fact do I have to go do something else?? 

Thanks