cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How do I configure Cisco 7970G Phone with SIP Firmware?

jcharles12
Level 1
Level 1

I would like to use this phone with my asterisk Pbx server, but first I need to flash the phone with sip firmware. I have read almost everything on how to do it but, I feel like I am getting nowhere. I am new to this. What is the correct firmware and where can I get it?  Please help explain how to configure this phone.

Thank You

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Charles,

Do you have a support contract with Cisco? If not im afraid to say you dont get any help from them :-(

Ok..Let me try to explain the best way i can.

For the Cisco IP phone to get the new image it will have to know the tftp ip address. The usual way of letting the ip phone to know what the tftp ip address is manually configuring the tftp ip address on the phones through the phone keys on the phone setting.

Since you dont have display on the phone this method does not work.

The other way of letting the ip phone know what the tftp ip address is telling it through the dhcp option. Usually dhcp scope is used to sepcficy network, gateway and dns server but it has option to configure the tftp option as well. This option is called as option 150.

The option 150 can not be enabled on your wireless router. So one option is to enable this on switch as mentioned in the above post.

This is the best way i could explain this :-)

Regards

Najaf

View solution in original post

Hi Charles,

That is really indeed a good news.

So was this TFTP working after you creating the dhcp scope on the switch? Or dhcp was on your router itself?

The below urls will help to configure the xml files.

http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+phone+cisco+7970+SIP

http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Asterisk+phone+cisco+79x1+xml+configuration+files+for+SIP

Hope that helps.

Please let me know if you need any other help.

Regards