Views
Helpful
Replies

how to find DSP resources on a 3640 IOS 12.2(8)T5

m.paolelli
Level 1
Level 1

Morning.

I do need to find the DSP resources on a Vgateway 3640 with IOS 12.2(8)T5. I already know that this machine has 4 E1 fluxes (120 channels) with two cards: a VWIC-2MFT-E1-DI and a VWIC-2MFT-E1. All the fluxes are working. But I'm not able to discover how many DSP's are on this machine!!! The 'show dialog' is useless and the only useful show seems to be the 'show voice dsp'. This shows a table with several columns. One of them is the DSP NUM that is like this: 000 000 001 001 002 002 ... and so on till 014 014, on the VOICE PORT 1/0, 1/1. And then another 000 000 001 001 ... 014 014 on the VOICE PORT 2/0, 2/1. What does it mean? That I've got 28 DSPs or 56 DSPs total? I'm quite new at that and I do need help!!! Thanks a lot...

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

You would need to find out which codecs you're using. It will do 30 High Complexity calls, or 60 Medium Complexity calls.

For a more in depth explanation, I would try plugging some numbers into the DSP calculator to figure out your codec situation. If you're doing all G.711 it will be 60 calls, for instance.

http://www.cisco.com/cgi-bin/Support/DSP/cisco_configure.pl

hth,

nick

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

paul.higgsboyo
Level 1
Level 1

Try show voice dsp voice.

The last part of the output shows what resources you have, whether they are in use or not and what CODEC is being used.

It DSP resource is listed in blocks of 16 so if you have 3 blocks of 16 then you have enough for 48 session.

Hi and thanks for your reply. Unfortunately I do not have the 'show voice dsp voice' in my commands but just the 'show voice dsp'.