cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP Phones showing "High Traffic Try Again Later"

sganpat
Level 1
Level 1

Last night we configured Auto QoS Voice on our switches. For most of the day everything was fine, but a little after noon some phones within the network were showing "High Traffic Try Again Later". The CUCM is local to the phone in the same VLAN.

Could the QoS config cause this error?

Sachin

13 Replies 13

Chris Deren
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Check CPU utilization on CUCM server, that's most likely the culprit.

HTH,

Chris

Thank you for your reply Chris.

I'm not in a position to check that now, but wouldn't that affect all phones, not just some? I'm a Network engineer and not a VoIP engineer, so pardon my ignorance.

I just thought that it was a huge coincidence that the error came up the day after we configured QoS.

Sachin

looks like the QOS configuration is messing up the voice traffic!!

That is what I am trying to figure out. I am not seeing any evidence of the QoS affecting the network traffic. All traffic the phones are within the network. I see no excessive drops on ports and the QoS WAN policies did not come into effect during the time the issue was encountered.

I'm basically stumped.

Sachin

Gajanan Pande
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

While such error is displayed on phones, Where are they calling to ? PSTN, another site users or same site users ?

If Another site, then bandwidth allocated between 2 sites must have been exhausted ( check location setting for BW allocation ). Is AAR configured whenever bandwidth between 2 sites gets exhausted ?

GP.

Pls rate helpful posts !!

I'll have to check those details and get back to you.

As far as I know, AAR is not configured. When you say that bandwidth is exhausted, is this a setting in call manager, or based on the network?

I'm really trying to asertain whether the QoS changes we made is causing it, or whether we should be looking at something else.

Sachin

sganpat wrote: