cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Announcements
3806
Views
10
Helpful
17
Replies
Evan Ray
Beginner

MGCP gateway won't register

So I've posted up another thread about one of my serial interfaces having an issue, and I wanted to swap out the router.  But I'm unable to get the MGCP gateway to register.  The status is UNKNOWN.  I can see the IP address of the router under the list of gateways, but status states unknown.  I've searched high and low online about what causes this, but I've seen many threads left to die with no resolution.  Any ideas as to what causes the unknown status.  I've configured everything the same as the old router, and made sure to change the name of the router accordingly.  Any thoughts?

17 REPLIES 17
Nathan Compton
Enthusiast

Make sure the domain name matches EXACTLY what it shows in the "show ccm-manager" command.  Domain Name and hostname must match.  Also, make sure the primary and secondary cucm servers match what is in the callmanager group.  If it is trying to register to a subscriber not in its callmanager group registration would fail.

 

That's all I can think of off the top of my head.

Thanks so much for replying!

The name is indeed the same.  I think you might be on something on that second part.  Right now 'sh ccm-manager' shows the primary as the CMS, and the first backup as the CMP.

What would of made that swap?  I don't even know how to switch that, but I think that might be it!

"Mgcp call-agent" for the primary and "ccm-manager redundant-host" for the backups. Here is a configuration guide to help: http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/voice-unified-communications/unified-communications-manager-callmanager/42105-vg200-cfg.html

ccm-manager fallback-mgcp


ccm-manager redundant-host 192.168.111.5


ccm-manager mgcp


ccm-manager music-on-hold


ccm-manager config server 192.168.111.6


ccm-manager config
!


mgcp


mgcp call-agent 192.168.111.6 2427 service-type mgcp version 0.1


mgcp dtmf-relay voip codec all mode out-of-band


mgcp rtp unreachable timeout 1000 action notify

 

mgcp modem passthrough voip mode nse


mgcp package-capability rtp-package


mgcp package-capability sst-package


mgcp package-capability pre-package


no mgcp package-capability res-package


no mgcp package-capability fxr-package


no mgcp timer receive-rtcp


mgcp sdp simple


mgcp fax t38 inhibit


mgcp rtp payload-type g726r16 static


mgcp bind control source-interface GigabitEthernet0/0


mgcp bind media source-interface GigabitEthernet0/0


!

mgcp profile default

 

 

192.168.111.6 - Call Manager Subscriber

192.168.111.5 - Call Manger Publisher

The config above is working properly and registering the Cisco 3825, so I'm wondering why it wouldn't work with the 3845 I'm trying to upgrade too.

Hi Ninja,

please share output of show ccm-manager and show ccm-manager hosts from cisco 3845 router ?

if possible, also share show run of 3845 router.

regds,

aman

1. can you ping your call agent taking Gig 0/0 as source?

2. do "no mgcp" and "mgcp" than collect debug mgcp packets

3. Check if your device pool as same as the gateway config you are copying. because your call manager group sequence should match with the call agent and the redundant host

 

 

I can ping the call agent using Gig 0/0 as source.

I will do a tear down of the mgcp and collect debug.

In regards to the device pool, it looks like the SRST reference name is using that of the old router name. But its still pointing to the correct router IP address. 

*edit* I posted about code tags, but looks like if I copy out of Notepad it won't group all the config in a paragraph.

CORE-RTR#sh ccm-manager
MGCP Domain Name: CORE-RTR
Priority        Status                   Host
============================================================
Primary         Registered               192.168.111.6
First Backup    Backup Ready             192.168.111.5
Second Backup   None

Current active Call Manager:    192.168.111.6
Backhaul/Redundant link port:   2428
Failover Interval:              30 seconds
Keepalive Interval:             15 seconds
Last keepalive sent:            13:07:12 PST May 7 2014 (elapsed time: 00:00:19)
Last MGCP traffic time:         13:07:30 PST May 7 2014 (elapsed time: 00:00:01)
Last failover time:             None
Last switchback time:           None
Switchback mode:                Graceful
MGCP Fallback mode:             Enabled/OFF
Last MGCP Fallback start time:  None
Last MGCP Fallback end time:    None
MGCP Download Tones:            Disabled
TFTP retry count to shut Ports: 2

Backhaul Link info:
    Link Protocol:      TCP
    Remote Port Number: 2428
    Remote IP Address:  192.168.111.6
    Current Link State: OPEN
    Statistics:
        Packets recvd:   12152
        Recv failures:   0
        Packets xmitted: 11099
        Xmit failures:   0
    PRI Ports being backhauled:
        Slot 0, VIC 3, port 1
        Slot 0, VIC 3, port 0
        Slot 0, VIC 2, port 1
        Slot 0, VIC 2, port 0
Configuration Auto-Download Information
=======================================
 No configurations downloaded
Current state: Waiting for commands
Configuration Download statistics:
        Download Attempted             : 2
          Download Successful          : 2
          Download Failed              : 0
          TFTP Download Failed         : 0
        Configuration Attempted        : 1
          Configuration Successful     : 0
          Configuration Failed(Parsing): 0
          Configuration Failed(config) : 1
Last config download command:
FAX mode: cisco
Configuration Error History:
controller T1 0/0/0
 linecode b8zs
end

 

CORE-RTR#sh ccm-manager hosts
MGCP Domain Name: CORE-RTR
Priority        Status                   Host
============================================================
Primary         Registered               192.168.111.6
First Backup    Backup Ready             192.168.111.5
Second Backup   None

It shows registered on the gateway.  Have you tried making a call out of the MGCP gateway?

Sorry, I took that config out of the current running configuration with the old router, so it will show Registered. To be honest, I didn't look at the router to see if it was registered.  I was look inside CCM under Gateways where it stated it was Unknown.

Are you looking at the endpoints in CUCM or the gateway itself?  The gateway itself will always show unregistered but endpoints like your PRIs should show registered.

I was looking at the endpoints.

Here's what I see under List Gateways

      

S0/SU0/DS1-1@CORE-RTR    S0/SU0/DS1-0@CORE-RTR    CORE   UNKNOWN    192.168.100.1

I see the same in endpoints for the 4 PRI's.

Currently, we have a 3825 in production that is working and I see the 192.168.111.6 under status of the 4 PRI's.   The 111.6 is our CMS.

Can you give the "show isdn status" output and also "show run | sec controller"?

Create
Recognize Your Peers
Content for Community-Ad