cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MRG/MRGL

Ellen Kennedy
Level 1
Level 1

So I've been doing Cisco voice for a few years now and I cannot seem to get the proper grasp on MRG's and MRGL's and how they should be configured with annunciators, CFBs, MTPs, transcoders, etc....

My question is, reagardless if I apply these MRGLs to the device pool or the devices itself, do SIP/SCCP phones need all of these items in the MRG contained in the MRGL? I guess what I am really asking is how should your resources be configured for devices throughout the CUCM system. I always configure the dsp resources in the routers with a transcoder and conference bridge at the least, and have those register to CUCM, but I'm having trouble getting a grasp on how they should be setup.. I know this depends on the use in each scenario and the number of users in each environment, but there has to be some scale that could be followed when deploying these systems.

4 Replies 4

acampbell
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Ellen,

I know this tech note is getting a bit old but the principles are still the same.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/voicesw/ps556/products_tech_note09186a008020f198.shtml

Hope this helps you

Regards,
Alex.
Please rate useful posts.

Regards, Alex. Please rate useful posts.

Ayodeji Okanlawon
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Ellen,

The best practice with regards to resources in MRG are these

Conference Bridge

1. When you are using Hardware based conference bridge, do not assign both SW CFB and HW CFB in the same MRG. The reason is because CUCM assigns resources in the same MRG in a round robin fashion, hence when a device requests a CFB resource, CUCM does not make the dinstiction between what the device needs and whats available. This leads to scenarios where conferencing fails for conference calls with G729 should a SW CFB be assigned.

So always ensure you have SW MRG and associate SW CFB to them and then have HW MRG and associate HW MRG to them