cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS for Cisco IP phones attached to layer 2 switch

Teressa Corson
Level 1
Level 1

I am trying to implement LLQ across several switches. Our Cisco IP phones are attached to 3560 POE switches that are configured only at layer 2. They trunk to a 6509. I want to set up egress queues on that trunk so that voice traffic has priority and takes up a specified amount of the bandwidth. I tried to implement the following commands but when I get to the policy-map there are no commands available for "priority" or "bandwidth".

I'm new at this. For weeks I've been trying to learn QoS and VOIP by reading from various Cisco books (QOS 642-642 book, CCNP ONT 642-845 book, etc.) and online documents. I would be grateful for any help that anyone can give.

!Configure the class-maps for VOIP and VOIP signaling.

class-map llq-voip-traffic

match ip dscp ef

exit

class-map voip-signaling

match ip dscp af31

exit

!Configure the policy-map to reserve the bandwidth on 2GB PO egress queues

policy-map llq-voip-2gb

class llq-voip-traffic

priority percent 37 (740,000 Kbps)

class voip-signaling

bandwidth percent 13 (260,000 Kbps)

class class-default

fair-queue

end

!Set the bandwidth on the 2GB PO interface and apply the policy-map outbound.

conf t

int po2

bandwidth 2000000

service-policy output llq-voip-2gb

exit

Thank you very much!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I've found that echo is normally caused by the telco connection. Looking at the errors on your prime, I'd say get the fixed first, and see where you are at after that.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

jbarcena
Level 9
Level 9

Those commands are only for some layer 3 switches, they won't work on layer 2 switches.

HTH

//Jorge

AJAZ NAWAZ
Level 5
Level 5

Hello Teressa,

I think you may be in luck. I have recently deployed 3560's with PoE and have them set-up with auto-qos. I'll explain how to do that later.