Views
Helpful
Replies

Restricted/Unrestricted warning on IP phone firmware upgrade

tca_arosen
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all - 

I'm new to CUCM and I am installing my first phone firmware pack since we had our CUCM install done. Following instructions at http://www.cisco.com/web/software/282074288/113778/cmterm-7821_7841_7861-sip.10-1-1SR2-readme.html. When I try to initiate the install, I get the attached message warning me about upgrading from a "Restricted" version to an "Unrestricted" version. Should I be getting this on a phone firmware file? Should this be ignored or did I do something wrong?

Thank you all for your help.

Adam

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I tried uploading this file on my lab 9.1.1 and 10.0 clusters and did not receive any such warnings. I would suggest opening a TAC case to troubleshoot it further.

HTH

Manish

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Manish Gogna
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This warning primarily indicates that once you install an unrestricted version of cucm software it will not allow you to go back to the restricted ( normal ) version. So, you need to choose the appropriate version ( restricted or unrestricted ) while upgrading.

HTH

Manish

Manish - 

Are there restricted/unrestricted versions of phone firmware. Is this just a generic warning that always comes up regardless of what is being installed?

Adam

Hi Adam

This is not an expected behavior or generic warning. This kind of warning only appears when you are upgrading your CUCM/CUC software from restricted to unrestricted or vice versa, but not when you are doing the installation of software cop file for a device. 

Can you please paste the following :

1. From the CLI of CUCM (ssh)

show version active

2. From the GUI

Screenshots of steps you are doing before you get to this warning.

Regards

Aditya

admin:show version active
Active Master Version: 9.1.2.11900-12
Active Version Installed Software Options: