cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

T.38 Question

bill.roland
Level 1
Level 1

All: I'll apologize right up front for this newbie question, but I am new to the idea of faxing over IP networks.  I have been trying to do research on using T.38 for faxing, and while I have found some information, one question I have not yet been able to figure out is what role there is for T.38, if any, if you're using a fax machine connected to an analog FXS port on an ISR, which then calls outbound to the PSTN on either a PRI or FXO port?  All examples I have seen so far deal only with transporting the fax end to end over an IP network, what happens if you have a fax going part of the way over IP and then hitting the PSTN, what role is there for T.38 in that?  If somebody could point me to a document or two, I'd be glad to read up on it, so far I must be searching for the wrong stuff because I am not coming up with much useful info.  Thanks in advance.

Bill

3 Replies 3

JiriPrinc
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am not aware of any documents but here is where I see the benefits of T.38:

- it allows you to have "software" on the side of the fax machine (in other words you do not need old fashion boxes for faxing)

- it is "just" sip to sip endpoind comunication so easili managable on firwall side, and so "doable" even on complex networks

- also benefit over G.711 is the possible redundancy option

And you already have the gateway. However it has to have power to convert the T.38 to "voice" (quite resource demanding).

In your case, If your fax machine is connected to the FXS port, then I do not expect any T.38 in place at all. But if you do not want to replace tis device then probably you do not need any other solution, even t.38 based. I bet, it works

Regards

Jiri