cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

UC520 Phone upgrade, getting new error screen.

william.swartz
Level 1
Level 1

Just upgraded my UC520 to 8.6.2 which included a phone load upgrade to 9.1(1); my previous phone load was 8.5(4).

I'm not a programmer, but I've created several useful service menus on the system that access php scripts on a server.  Several of these scripts will cause an error: XML Error [4]: Parse Error.  While on the 8.5(4) phone code, the error would appear in the Prompt area of the screen, below the main screen and above the buttons.  It was non-obtrusive and would disappear after a few seconds.  I tried on several occasions to figure out the source of the error but all the functions worked great regardless so we simply ignored the error.

With the 9.1(1) upgrade, the error is obtrusive.  After selecting a menu item, the script is run, but the XML error now pops up on it's own full screen.  Only way out is to hit the Exit button which takes me back in an extra step in the menu tree.

Now, I know the obvious answer to this is to figure out the source of the XML error and fix it.  I've tried, but can't seem to find (did I mention I'm not a programmer! ;-).  Been through documents like this; I'm not using any special characters or long prompts: http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/voice-unified-communications/unified-ip-phone-7900-series/100895-xml-parse-error.html

Looking for ideas on how to diagnose the XML error, move the error to the Prompt area where it was before, or suppress the error all together.

1 Reply 1

william.swartz
Level 1
Level 1

Was able to find a satisfactory work-around for this.  To provide some background...