cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What equipment is need to build a CUCM lab at home?

jeanSD
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, my apology for not posting a technical question. I'm a Avaya tech who wants to learn Cisco CUCM by building a mini CUCM home lab.  I'm seeing a lot CME  lab kits on Ebay however, I believe CUCM and CME are completely different from each other correct?  If so, is it feasible to build a CUCM lab at home and what is the basic gear needed to do so?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jaime Valencia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Correct, CUCM runs on a a Linux build, RHEL or CentOS on newer releases.

CME runs on IOS.

For a true CUCM environment, which I would recommend to avoid running into issues and trying to work around issues, you need to meet the requirements outlined here:

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/voice_ip_comm/uc_system/virtualization/cisco-collaboration-virtualization.html

See 3rd column.

CUCM is not free to download (no bootable media is posted, and you need a CCO with a valid contract for updates), to do this legally, you'd need to be part of a partner to get an NFR kit and licensing for it, otherwise, CUCM would only run for a limited amount of time before locking any MACD and you'd need to reinstall and re-configure to get more time.

HTH

java

if this helps, please rate

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Jaime Valencia
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Correct, CUCM runs on a a Linux build, RHEL or CentOS on newer releases.

CME runs on IOS.

For a true CUCM environment, which I would recommend to avoid running into issues and trying to work around issues, you need to meet the requirements outlined here:

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/voice_ip_comm/uc_system/virtualization/cisco-collaboration-virtualization.html

See 3rd column.