Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies
khgrant
Cisco Employee

provisioning: NSO vs ODL?

Anyone has an insightful comparison between NSO and ODL from provisioning point of view? It seems there are so many similarities, but as I have no hands-on experience on ODL so pls someone shed a light.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
khgrant
Cisco Employee

Yes, the very short version is that NCS/NSO is a
network service lifecycle orchestrator, and ODL is an control plane application
platform.
If you look at the attached slide, you see NSO in the RFS-layer, and
ODL/OSC sits in the infrastructure layer.
Yes, the very short version is that NCS/NSO is a network service lifecycle orchestrator, and ODL is an control plane application platform.
  If you look at the attached slide, you see NSO in the RFS-layer, and ODL/OSC sits in the infrastructure layer.

View solution in original post

30 REPLIES 30
khgrant
Cisco Employee

Yes, the very short version is that NCS/NSO is a
network service lifecycle orchestrator, and ODL is an control plane application
platform.
If you look at the attached slide, you see NSO in the RFS-layer, and
ODL/OSC sits in the infrastructure layer.
Yes, the very short version is that NCS/NSO is a network service lifecycle orchestrator, and ODL is an control plane application platform.
  If you look at the attached slide, you see NSO in the RFS-layer, and ODL/OSC sits in the infrastructure layer.

View solution in original post

khgrant
Cisco Employee

ODL is a opensource sdn controller , It have an out of box usecase of BGP LSP , and ACL so far and the PCEP protocol on bandwidth optimization , in another word , the dynamic path recaculation  Now it is works  well with cisco WAE.

Well NSO is more strength on service activation with transaction control .

khgrant
Cisco Employee

Thanks. I know there're other capabilities in ODL that's why I focus the discussion on the overlapped part – provisioning.