cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
44
Views
0
Helpful
2
Replies
khgrant
Cisco Employee

Quick how to question

 

Can someone please respond to my customer question below?

 

 

Is there a way to remove services built in NSO from NSO without deleting anything on the network?  If I can remove the services from NSO without removing them from the network, I can then delete the devices in NSO and add them again without impacting anything.

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
khgrant
Cisco Employee

 

Hi Emile,

 

Yes you can, first delete then use ‘commit no-networking’.

 

 

However the second statement is not correct. If you do the above and remove the devices and add them again, and add the services back, then the config on the devices will not have the correct refcounts to the existing services, so you will have an impact, for example if then you really want to remove the service later, NSO will not remove any config, because the service when you added it back  will have not created any new config having found the service config already present on the device.

 

 

Its better if they pose the question differently. What at a high level are they trying to achieve? Why do they think removing/adding devices will help?

 

 

You mention that you are repeating here a question from your customer. For customers its good to have them open a TAC case, or have them ask on devnet. So you are not sitting in the middle of a conversation, and also because this list is best effort.

 

 

Stefano

 

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
khgrant
Cisco Employee

 

Yes, you can use the commit no-networking option.

-Dan

 

khgrant
Cisco Employee

 

Hi Emile,

 

Yes you can, first delete then use ‘commit no-networking’.

 

 

However the second statement is not correct. If you do the above and remove the devices and add them again, and add the services back, then the config on the devices will not have the correct refcounts to the existing services, so you will have an impact, for example if then you really want to remove the service later, NSO will not remove any config, because the service when you added it back  will have not created any new config having found the service config already present on the device.

 

 

Its better if they pose the question differently. What at a high level are they trying to achieve? Why do they think removing/adding devices will help?

 

 

You mention that you are repeating here a question from your customer. For customers its good to have them open a TAC case, or have them ask on devnet. So you are not sitting in the middle of a conversation, and also because this list is best effort.

 

 

Stefano

 

View solution in original post

Content for Community-Ad

This widget could not be displayed.