Views
Helpful
Replies

relocate metro ethernet from cisco 2960x to 3850x

anitaleung2019
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a newbie to handle the cisco equipment. grateful if you would help to enlighten me how to handle the ME circuit relocation from cisco 2960x to cisco 3850x

Q1. any modification is required before the ME circuit relocation? if yes, which one and how to rectify it, any service impact on it

Q2. any tuning on the ethernetchannel setting on 3850X (or 2960X) side.

Thanks

background info:

- there are two ME circuits, they are connected single 2960X in KLN and single 2960X in NT

- the ethernetchannel is configured on 2960X with LACP. both 2960X switches are normal

- cisco 2960X and 3850X is connected via access port

- There are two ethernet switches (cisco 3850X) in KLN, it is required to move the ME circuit to each cisco 3850X

A. below is 2960X config in KLN,

!

system mtu routing 1500

spanning-tree mode pvst

interface Port-channel1

description connect ME circuit in NT

switchport mode trunk

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/10

switchport mode trunk

channel-group 1 mode active

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/12

switchport mode trunk

!

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/1
description connect from 2960x to 3850 for vlan 50
switchport access vlan 50
switchport mode access
spanning-tree portfast
!
interface GigabitEthernet1/0/2
description connect from 2960x to 3850 for vlan 80
switchport access vlan 80
switchport mode access
spanning-tree portfast

!

VTP setting is server

!

B. below is cisco 2960X config in NT

!

spanning-tree mode pvst

interface Port-channel1

description connect ME in KLN

! ! there is no any setting under port channel

!

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/10

switchport mode trunk

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/12

switchport mode trunk

!

C. below is the cisco 3850x with stack config

spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst

! Pre-config ethernetchannel

interface Port-channel1
switchport mode trunk

interface TenGigabitEthernet3/0/10