basil-emircom
Level 1
Level 1

hi all,

i failed the MPLS Exam with score 780

the passing score was 790

one of the questions that i think i didn't answer correctly is

which two of the following regarding LDP is true:

A. LDP can also be used between nonadjacent routers using multicast LDP Hello messages.

B. LDP doesnt require periodic hello message once the hLDP session has been establishment between the LDP peers.

C. LDP hello messages use TCP Packets with a destenation port of number of 646.

D. Multiple sessions can be establishment between a pair of LSRs if they use multiple label spaces.

E. Per-platform label space can be identified by label space ID of 0 in the LDP identifier field.

what do u think the correct choices ?

please advice?

4 Replies 4

gauthierla
Level 1
Level 1

Well, I'm not an expert, but it a good exercise for me, as I am currently working for the MPLS exam.

A : wrong -> LDP nonadjacent sessions require a unicat transmission (refer to LDP RFC (3036), chap 2.4.2)

B : wrong -> To maintain the adjaceny, Hello messages are needed (refer to LDP RFC (3036), chap 2.5.5)

C : wrong -> Hello messages are built on UDP. TCP is used for Session messages (refer to LDP RFC (3036), chap 1.2)

D : true -> A single label space = an LDP session. If the LSR is for example an ATM switch, it manages a per interface label space. So if the pair of LSRs are connected by more than one link, multiple sessions are going to be established (refer to LDP RFC (3036), chap 2.2.3)

E : Well, by elimination I'd say true, but I'm not really sure. An LDP identifier contains 6 bytes. the 4st are dedicated to the LSR identifier and the 2 last one are dedicated to the label space. If the router is a per plateform labe space, it should be set to the 0. Therefore, if it's possible to set the LSR id to 0, the answer is definitly true.

An expert should confirm that answer

(refer to LDP RFC (3036), chap 2.2.2)

Gauthier,