cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS Service decision

dolrairom
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone! I'm studying advanced networks architecture for college and the I have the following doubt:

Supposing a scenario where a client is present in 3 different cities, the client wants that all the trafic between city 1 and 2 goes first to city 3 (as a head office), which would be the better mpls service?
What I see is the need of a point to point connection from city 1 to 3 and another one from city 2 to 3. My main thought is that the network would be based on L2VPN (VPWS), and not VPLS because in this one, the PE choose the AC depending on the destination MAC, so city 1 and 2 could get direct communication. But, why not L3VPN? I can't get to the decision. I read the post https://community.cisco.com/t5/mpls/difference-between-l2vpn-and-l3-vpn/td-p/2986112 and still can't make up my mind.

Please I need some help, thanks!

5 Replies 5

Francesco Molino
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Hi

How are your sites connected together today? I believe they are running ip services (routing) and not connected over L2 links?
You can do the exact same thing using L3VPN in multiple ways (segment routing, traffic-engineering...).
Do you have a need to stretch L2? what kind of services are you planning to run?
If you can summarize it briefly, L3VPN will consider each site as a real site with routing in between (even if you can L2 afterwards if needed) whereas L2VPN will be 3 physical locations in 1 big logical location as your L2 will be spanned (maybe not all vlans..). This is a schematic view to make you decide which one to go with and most importantly depending on what services you need to run.

Thanks
Francesco
PS: Please don't forget to rate and select as validated answer if this answered your question

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello @dolrairom ,