cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I use ISE monitor mode to determine ports and protocols and associate those with users and applications?

cumiskeyp
Level 1
Level 1

I am working in local government and we are modernizing our network to use VRF so we can isolate traffic for security and regulatory compliance reasons.  We do have some cross department shared access and communications, as well as enterprise services that go across all departments, but we are trying to isolate everything else based on windows active directory domain user accounts and applications.

I would like to use monitoring logs to help determine what ports and protocols we are currently using, and which applications are using them, and how those relate to individual users.

I am totally new to ISE and ACI and I'm hoping there is some kind of road map or guidelines for observing what is already going on to see what we need in order to set up our rules.

Thanks for any guidance or input you may have to share or offer.

phil

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Cory Peterson
Level 5
Level 5

Hello,

ISE is not a traffic monitoring tool, ISE is used for network access control and segmentation among many others things. If you are looking for someone to monitor traffic you would be better off looking at stealthwatch. 

But the segmentation goal you are trying to achieve with VRFs would be much easier to achieve using ISE. ISE is great at segmentation and it is much more dynamic than trying to use VRFs. 

-Cory

View solution in original post

I would have your account team reach out to our product managers to discuss this road map and see how they may help. Monitor Ise does not monitor traffic patterns

Here is a link to the profiling chapter of the 2.4 admin guide:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/ise/2-4/admin_guide/b_ise_admin_guide_24/b_ise_admin_guide_24_new_chapter_010101.html