cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How do I make an authorization decision based on the NAD ?

paulle
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

How can I create an authorization policy that uses the requesting NAD as  one of its conditions?

Example I only want to apply certain authorization profile results to a subset of switches.

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

dmh
Level 5
Level 5

You can use the NAD name, group or IP address in an authorisation policy.

See the following for configuration details:

Cisco Identity Services Engine Administrator Guide, Release 2.3 - Configure and Manage Policies [Cisco Identity Service…

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

rcheyfit
Level 4
Level 4

Hi there.

This is my first time answering a technical question … I’m eager to get feedback from the TMEs here at Cisco and make sure this is the best approach ☺

Authorization rules are created as one of three parts of a network access policy set in the new Policy Set paradigm. Each unique policy set includes a top level that determines conditions for the resulting configured allowed protocol, and then within that set, the authentication and authorization rules. Therefore, in order to create an authorization rule (formerly an authorization policy), you must create a new relevant policy set or edit an existing, relevant set to include the authorization rules (conditions and resulting authorization profiles and security groups) that you need.

You can use device and switches as the conditions for the results of any of the three parts of a set (again: allowed protocols, authentication and authorization). In addition, from the Conditions Studio you’ll find pre-defined building blocks for a variety of switch/protocol types.