cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE 3.0 and MAB Configuration

Robert Molina
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to this and starting into configuring our ISE servers with policies for allowing endpoints to authenticate using 802.1X. I am taking a phased approach to this so I don't accidently shut down the whole network. After much research, I started with a policy set that allows network access using Wired MAB. In order to monitor, I first configured the switch with:

aaa authentication dot1x default group Groupname

aaa authentication dot1x start-stop group Groupname

For the interfaces that I am testing on I configured it with:

authentication port-control auto

authentication host-mode multi-auth

authentication open

authentication periodic

mab

dot1x pae authenticator

dot1x timeout supp-timeout 30

dot1max-req 2

The associated endpoints all authenticated without issues using this format. Unfortunately this doesn't work when the endpoint is a printer. I added the command authentication control-direction in.

The printer would still not pass authentication and access to printer is lost. I don't have a specific policy set for the printers and I don't know how to write one up.

Can anyone assist me? Thank you for your support

10 Replies 10

Hi @Robert Molina ,

a simple example:

At Work Centers > Profiler > Profiling Policies > Logical Profiles

1. create a Printer-Profiler and at Assigned Policies select your Printer model.

Note: if you don't find your Printer model, then create one at Profiling Policies.

At Policy > Policy Sets

Policy Set Name: Wired-MAB

Condition: Wired-MAB

Note: you are able to find the Wired-MAB condition at Policy > Policy Elements > Conditions > Library Conditions.

2. Authentication Policy

Rule Name: MAB

Condition: Wired-MAB

Use: Internal Endpoints

3. Authorization Policy

Rule Name: Printer-MAB

Condition: Endpoint.LogicalProfile EQUALS Printer-Profiler

Hope this helps !!!

Hi,