cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What URL's need to be allowed for Guest Portal REDIRECT ACL using SAML and Microsoft Office IdP ?

Arne Bier
VIP
VIP

Hello

I am no SAML expert, but we have an ISE 2.7 Guest Portal that uses SAML as the portal authentication method.

The SAML stuff is working well and we can test it via the ISE Portal test feature.

But as for the actual Wireless client test, user receives the URL redirection string (which includes the ISE portal FQDN) and then I believe ISE internally redirects that off to Microsoft public cloud for the user's login (you never see the ISE Portal). Typically, the ACL for redirection allows DNS, DHCP and ISE PSN's - and blocks everything else. That's the issue - we need to allow access to the Microsoft sites that are part of this SAML auth.

The challenge is, finding out which URLs exactly - URLs would be preferred since we don't want to make it based on IP addresses or prefixes. Having said that, I don't get the feeling that the URL filtering on the 9800 (in SDA fabric mode) supports URL filtering. Then IP prefix filters might be the only sure way to do this.

Microsoft publishes some information but it's hard to say whether it applies in our case or not.

We tried doing tcpdump to see the DNS queries on the client - but the access still didn't work after adding in the URLs.

If anyone has a proven list of URLs that has worked for them, please share?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Greg Gibbs
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The following URLs are what I configured in my WLC redirect ACL when I tested Guest Portal authentication against Azure AD SAML IdP in my lab. I was using an AireOS WLC model, but it looks like the 9800 does support DNS-based ACLs.

login.microsoftonline.com
aadcdn.microsoftonline-p.com
aadcdn.msauth.net

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Greg Gibbs
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee