Views
Helpful
Replies

BPDU Guard SNMP Traps and OpenNMS

rcoote5902_2
Level 2
Level 2

Hello,

We've recently implemented some switch port security along with bpdu guard.  I'm in the process of implementing OpenNMS to monitor but have discovered there is not a built in way to alter for ports disabled (errdisable) due to bpduguard.  I would like to be notified of these as close to real-time as possible.

Has anyone any experience with SNMP traps for errdisabled status and OpenNMS?

Thanks,

Rob

10 Replies 10

yjdabear
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Does it have to be SNMP traps?

I'm not sure, this is my first attempt with NMS and SNMP.  What are the alternatives?

Ultimately, I need real-time altering for ports getting disabled, and preferably a free solution.

You could have OpenNMS poll the following MIBs and generate notifications accordingly:

CISCO-ERROR-DISABLE-MIB (reportedly for 2950/3550 non-modular switches only)

cErrDisableIfStatusCause / 1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.548.1.3.1.1.2

an OID value of 2 corresponds to "bpduGuard"

AND

CISCO-STACK-MIB

portAdditionalOperStatus / 1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.23

an OID value of 10 corresponds to "errdisable"

This is not the most favorable approach, because I consider it only "near real-time" with the usual polling intervals.

OTOH, Cisco OS's generally send BPDU alerts to syslog, about as "real-time" as it gets. So assuming you have the usual syslogging config + infrastructure:

logging trap
logging

Your syslog servers should get the following, for example:

CatOS

SPANTREE-2-RX_PORTFAST:Received BPDU on PortFast enable port. Disabling [mod/port].
SPANTREE-2-RX_BPDUGUARD: Received BPDU on bpdu guard enabled port. Disabling [mod/port].
IOS

PM-SP-4-ERR_DISABLE: bpduguard error detected on [mod/port], putting [mod/port] in err-disable state