Views
Helpful
Replies

Creating Switch Network

Wykes
Level 1
Level 1

Hey everybody,

I am very new to the networking and how it works. I am an Electronics Engineering Technology Major and this kind of topic is not discussed in our degree. I hope I can find some help. I have read over many manuals and implemented Cisco labs as well as spent much time googling trying to figure out how to do what I am trying to accomplish. 

So I have two Cisco 2950 switches. I am working with Siemens Simatic 505 PLC’s that are communicating through the 505-CP1434TF H1 module. Before implementing any of the following I had both PLC’s connected directly through each other’s H1 modules and they were communicating without any issues. 

I started out by setting up one switch. From factory defaults I created Vlan 99 and gave it all of the ports using the interface range fa0/1 - 24 command and assigned it an IP address of 080.006.011.1 and subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. I also gave it a default gateway of 080.006.011.1. My two PLC’s both are configured with IP addresses that are within the IP address that I assigned to the switch. Once I got the switch configured I plugged in my PLC’s and they worked flawlessly. 

On my second 2950 switch I implemented the same exact configuration as switch 1 except making its IP address 080.006.011.2. It has the same subnet mask and default gateway as switch one, it is also configured using vlan 99 for the ports. I tested the second switch by plugging both of the PLC’s into it and it also worked flawlessly. 

I began running into trouble whenever I started trying to have only on PLC per switch with the switches hooked together through port 24. So PLC A was plugged into switch 1 on port 1 and PLC B was plugged into switch 2 on port 1 and the two switches were linked together through port 24. Simply doing this without changing any of the configurations did not allow my PLC’s to communicate to each other.