Views
Helpful
Replies

Get Prime to schedule a reboot of a switch

Andy White
Level 3
Level 3

Hello,

I'm new to Prime and love it, keep find new features.  Anyway we are on version 3.1 and I've added a troublesome switch of ours that has a bug that get's fixed if I reload it.  Cisco are helping, but a bug fix may take some time.

Anyway I just can't work out how to create a template to schedule a weekly reboot of this switch and wondered if someone can help.  I found a youtube video but this was from Prime 2.0 and is very different.

I'm also using the guide http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/net_mgmt/prime/infrastructure/3-0/user/guide/pi_ug/config-temp.html

I guess I can create some sort of CLI template? Here Configuration / Templates / Features & Technologies

Thank in advance

Andy

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Kevin Homistek
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I'm able to theoretically do that in my environment; I didn't actually run the job here, but the options are available to do what you described:

1) Configuration>Templates>Features&Technologies. Scroll down the template list to CLI Templates>System Templates - CLI. In that list is a template called "Reload Configuration-IOS". Click on it and it will show you the properties where you can save as a new template, cancel, or deploy it. Click "Deploy"

2) The next screen should allow you to select your devices. Find the switch in question, select it, and click Next

3) Input options, default work flow selected, and click Next

4) Confirm your device selection, enter a reload wait time, and checkbox whether to save config before reload. Click Apply and then Next

5) Schedule Deployment options. Here is where the schedule can be chosen to run this job weekly. Configure the job name, start time, and the weekly recurrence.

Hope this helps!

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Kevin Homistek
Level 1
Level 1