Views
Helpful
Replies

LMS4.1 soft appliance 1st aid

STEFFEN NEUSER
Level 4
Level 4

Hello,

Im new with the LMS4.1 soft appliance and got some questions after 1st touch with it:

1. Where can you get the documentation about the very special LMS-appliance-CLI? Is it possible to SSH to the linux-shell directly?

2. What is the default root password?

3. necessary Filesharing (e.g. for csv imports from old system) options:

a) SCP: with pscp from a win-client to LMS I get "cant get vty from remote host ...". Are there working compatibility options for common scp-clients?

b) Is it possible to setup an FTP server on LMS appliance?

c) Has SAMBA been installed, so that it is possible to make CIFS mounts?

(1st workarround = FTP server at the win-client)

4. What means the 1st "Access Denied" message after connecting via SSH and SCP successfuly?

5. Where is mping located?

Thx for hints,

Steffen

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Ignacio Freyre
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, i found this solution to work very well for exporting files out of the box, its a workaround for cifs mounts.

As user root:

1) on cisco-lms install sshfs, which lets you mount a folder on a remote linux box through sftp:
install in the following order:
rpm -ivh fuse-libs-2.7.4-8.el5.x86_64.rpm
rpm -ivh fuse-2.7.4-8.el5.x86_64.rpm
rpm -ivh fuse-sshfs-2.5-1.el5.rf.x86_64.rpm

2) mount 
mkdir /mnt/backup
sshfs root@<remote-linux-box-ip>:<remote-folder> /mnt/backup -o allow_other

3) rsync with cron
00 1 * * * rsync -r -v /var/adm/CSCOpx/files/rme/dcma/shadow/* /mnt/backup/ >> /root/rsync.log 2>&1

note: the remote-folder in the remote-linux-box can be a cifs mount

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

Michel Hegeraat
Level 7
Level 7

1 The first cli is quite simple. Very few command and ? to options. The shell is like a stripped linux.

As admin, with the admin password you should be able to login ussing ssh Not sure about recovery if you forgot the pw