cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

[PACKET TRACER] Inbound and Outbound PDUs have the same Destination MAC Address

GillverK
Level 1
Level 1

I just started taking CCNA Labs with David Bombal on Udemy and really, it should come with a disclaimer which says not for total beginners.

In the Topology:

PC1 ---------- SW1 ------------ R1 ------------ PC2

In one of his labs where we do a Packet Tracer PING Test from PC1 to PC2, we explore the Inbound and Outbound PDUs and both the Inbound Destination MAC Address and Outbound Destination MAC Address are the same -- they are both R!'s MAC Address. I was wondering, is this correct; am I misunderstanding what a PDU is?

I would have presumed that the for the Outbound PDU the Destination MAC would have been R1's Interface MAC Address and the Inbound PDU's Destination MAC would have been PC1's Interface MAC? Why is this not the case?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @GillverK ,

I have done the laboratory test that you indicate and PT makes the MAC address change as it should be.

I suggest you do several ping before checking the addresses, because there are processes before a successful ping.
I attached an image with the test I did:

2.jpg

Regards

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @GillverK ,

I have done the laboratory test that you indicate and PT makes the MAC address change as it should be.

I suggest you do several ping before checking the addresses, because there are processes before a successful ping.
I attached an image with the test I did:

2.jpg

Regards

Thanks for this. This post is very informative. Sorry for the late reply. I was in the hospital (nothing serious). Seeing your output I took a closer look at what I was seeing in Simulation Mode and realized my error.

Diving into it, I realized what was going on and have to emphasize the fact that I'm an ultra beginner.