cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Setup issues for SNMP v3 /w LMS 2.5.1 on windows 2k3

jpeterson6
Level 2
Level 2

I'm trying to set up snmp v3 on my switch network and I seem to be hitting a bit of a brick wall. I'm very new to snmp in general so I spent some time researching and I did manage to get some progress, I think.

Anyways, I am unable to pull data from a test switch ever since I tried implementing snmp v3 (it was working when I was just using v2 communities), and I was wondering if anyone could help me.

My snmp configs on my switch (a 2950T 24 port) are:

snmp-server engineID local xxx

snmp-server engineID remote xxx.xxx.2.240 000000000100000000000000

snmp-server group tscgrp v3 auth notify *tv.FFFFFFFF.FFFFFFFF.FFFFFFFF

snmp-server community -------- RO

snmp-server community -------- RW

snmp-server contact TSC (x9149)

snmp-server system-shutdown

snmp-server enable traps config

snmp-server host xxx.xxx.2.240 version 3 auth tscusr

snmp-server manager

and a 'show snmp user' command:

User name: tscusr

Engine ID: 800000090300001A6DCD8440

storage-type: nonvolatile

Rowstatus: active

Authentication Protocol: MD5

Group-name: tscgrp

Is there anything I'm doing wrong here? The local engineID seemed to appear on it's own but I'm not sure how to set up the remote engineID (in terms of finding out what it is). What is needed to get it working on the 2k3 server that ciscoworks is sitting on, if anything? Or is it something to do with ciscoworks itself? This is a new (full) CWS install on a new server box, and the switch is on the same C-class subnet. There is no issue with blocked ports or reachability as far as I know.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The only way to obfuscate the SNMP credentials is with SNMPv3. The credentials are not encrypted in this case, but rather hashed using either MD5 or SHA-1.