cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Shutdown Ports not in use for a while with EEM Tcl

ANDAFBCCO
Level 1
Level 1

I have downloaded these 2 Tcl scripts from this previous discussion and from the sounds of it it's exactly what I've been looking for. But the problem is I'm new to EEM and have no idea how to go about putting these on the switches themselves. I've searched for configuration guides but to no prevail. Any help is greatly appreciated. Here's the link to previous discussion:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/164684.pdf;jsessionid=EEEEE143342DAAB34706D608D5C4C920.node0

48 Replies 48

Try this version.  You'll have to change the ED line to run it manually.

Forgive me but what is the ED line?

I just tried to load event man pol tm_suspend_ports.tcl configuration and it spit out this error:

error: tag statement required when using multiple events: policy tm_suspend_ports.tcl

JOSHUA M. PEAVY, SSgt, USAF

CONFIGURATION MANAGEMENT

You need to comment out the timer line so that only the event_register_none line is active.  The first line should be:

::cisco::eem::event_register_none maxrun 600

You have no idea how much work you just saved me. I'm posting the scipt that worked so you can double over it if you don't mind to execute at 00:00 every night. Now if i change the amount of seconds in half would it essentially go off twice a day. Also, if I modify the script to put it in a vlan would it look something like this:

set cli [list "config t"]
foreach port [array name suspend_ports] {
    set cli [concat $cli [list "interface $port" "shut" "switchp access vlan 187"]]

This version will run at midnight.  If you need it to run more often than that you will need to adjust the cron entry in the event registration line.  You can change the second 0 to 0,12 to run at midnight and noon every day.

Yes, your change will configure a new access VLAN on the switchports that are shutdown.

Thank you very much. You are well deserving of the Hall of Fame status.