cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Stop cron schedule after triggered

pashtet13
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, hope you can help me here since I am new to EEM.

I wrote a script to monitor SIP trunk status every 5 minutes and if it goes down send me an email. It works good, but if the SIP trunk is down, script will continue to run and I will keep getting alerts every 5 minutes until the issue is resolved.

I was wondering if there is any way to stop the script from running until trunk comes back up. I am assuming I will need to create another script to monitor if SIP registration is up and somehow tie two scripts together so that one disables another. Hope there is a more elegant solution.

Here is my script:

event manager applet SIP_Trunk_Monitor

event timer cron cron-entry "*/5 * * * *"

action 100 cli command "en"

action 200 cli command "show sip-ua register status"

action 250 foreach line "$_cli_result" "\n"

action 300 regexp "4262456285(.*) no " "$line"

action 400 if $_regexp_result eq "1"

action 600 mail server "10.10.10.10" to "email@company.com" from "monitoring@company.com" subject "SIP trunk is DOWN" body "SIP trunk is DOWN on RouterA"

action 700 end

action 800 end

Thanks for your help

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

No, this won't work.  You need to configure (config t) the environment variable that you wish to use to track the trunk status.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

What you could do is when the event is triggered, drop into config mode and set the event for this applet to be "none".  Then, within the same applet, configure a second countdown timer applet that times your hold down period.  When it fires, it drops into config mode, sets the event for SIP_Trunk_Monitor back to a cron timer, and then removes itself.

This is similar to the hold down strategy I discuss in https://supportforums.cisco.com/document/12723951/how-introduce-large-delays-eem-policies .

Thanks