cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

storing a snmp value

bryan totten
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to EEM and am trying to create some simple functionality.  I would like to check a value of an oid every hour and send an alert if this value has changed since the last polling.  This oid is for dropped packets (discards).

The oid is a cummulative value and continues to increment with each dicard.  I am not concerned about the actual value instead if it has changed.  IS IT POSSIBLE to handle this situation by storing a variable somehow and then checking for differences during the next polling?  Perhaps there is an easier way to handle.  Any help would be appreciated.

thanks!

oid:       1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19    if-mib:ifoutdiscards

7 Replies 7

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The SNMP event detector has this capability built right in:

event snmp oid 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19.1 entry-op ge entry-val 10 entry-type increment poll-interval 10

action 1.0 syslog msg "ifOutDiscards increased by $-snmp_delta_value in the last 10 seconds"

This will monitor the interface with the ifIndex of 1 for ifOutDiscards every 10 seconds.  If the increase is 10 or more, then the action will fire.

I really appreciate the quick response. 

It sounds like this is exactly what i am looking for however, when i enter the event command it gives incomplete command error. Based on the context sensitive help options i am not sure how to complete.

thanks again!

Sorry, try this:

event snmp oid 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19.1 entry-op ge entry-val 10 entry-type increment poll-interval 10 get-type exact

action 1.0 syslog msg "ifOutDiscards increased by $_snmp_delta_value in the last 10 seconds"

It took this command by simply specifying a specific interface using a oid: 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.19.10148.  I am seeing the conditions met for the event to trigger, however no syslog is getting generated.

my config looks as follows:

event manager session cli username "tecbtt"

event manager applet DROPS