Views
Helpful
Replies

Web Proxy & Firewalls Placement

Bilal Al-Sardar
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Experts,

Recently I received a task to implement FTD ACP & IPS policies for a customer, but I have noticed flaws in the network design regarding the placement of the WebSec/Proxy as well as the FTD boxes, not sure if I am right as I'm not a design expert.   

Any suggestions on the WebSec/Proxy & FTD placement design?

A simplified topology is attached

Thanks!, 

9 Replies 9

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

FTD can not replace 100% WebProxy here. (if not why cisco selll still WSA here)

If the Webproxy replacing then FTD/IPS should be in the path. May be this is Physical diagram how you connecing, we are not sure how your flows.

is the Servers forms in DMZ ?  what is the Fortigate Firewall here.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello

Yes you are right we cannot replace the proxy with the FTD, I did not mean that in the first place.

My point is that the proxy connection to this layer of the network is a flaw in the design, it is connected directly to server-farm-switch and all the traffic that is destined to the internet (from the users or the servers) must pass through the server-farm-switch then the proxy. also, the servers are not in a DMZ zone.

the other thing is the servers are in different vlans, and the proxy is communicating through one of those vlans.

let's assume: 

patch management server is on vlan 20

proxy is on vlan 20 also 

if the patch management server attempt to download a package from the public repository the traffic will not hit the FTD (DC-FW), it will go through the server-farm-switch only.

if AD server is on vlan 30, the traffic will hit the FTD box (DC-FW) and will be routed back to the proxy.

the Fortigate is out of my scope, but it's considered as an edge firewall to the internet.

Hello,