cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Access ASDM from the BVI interface (ASA 5508X)

mnice
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I'm new to cisco ASA with Firepower if possible to help me on this subject

I have an architecture where my ASA is between two switchs L2 in truck mode I used the transparent mode with BVI interfaces to pass the trafic from switch 1 (Inside) to switch 2 (Outside,side of gateway) it works but I have some problem as shown below:

- Since the ASA I can ping a single gateway of both VLANs but all hosts are pingable
- I can't use the BVI interface as an access interface with the ASDM (BVI interface not pingable)
- I have an oracle cluster with a virtual interface that I can't ping knowing that the physical interfaces are accessible

I attach the architecture and configuration of the ASA ,

Thank you in advance for your help

Regards.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

My outside access network is 192.168.1.0/24
Network dedicated to the management interface on ASA is 10.0.186.0/24
At the ASA I add #route management 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 10.0.186.0

it would be like this.

interface man0/0

nameif mgmt 

managment-only

security-level 100

ip address 10.0.186.1 255.255.255.0 

no shut

!

route mgmt 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.0.186.254

- Another question is the transparent mode with BVI that I have chosen correct for my architecture or can I use another solution to pass traffic (Vlan 185 and Vlan 184) between the ASA?

-if you have mutlicontext licenses you can create a separate context and segregate each BVI to into a specific context.

In my case if I want to use the BVI20 interface of the firewall as a management interface (ASDM) what I must add to the configuration in order to a access from the outside ?

the default gateway of the transparent firewall is typicall the downstream router towards the inside interface when the managment interface is not in use. therefore the router will be

!