cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5505 Best Practice Guidance Requested

Clint Lambert
Level 1
Level 1

I am hoping to tap into the vast wealth of knowledge on this board in order to gain some "best practice" guidance to assist me with the overall setup using the ASA 5505 for a small business client.  I'm fairly new to the ASA 5505 so any help would be most appreciated!

My current client configuration is as follows:
a) business internet service (cable) with a fixed IP address
b) a Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band router (currently setup as gateway and used for internet/WiFi access)
c) a Cisco SG-500-28 switch
d) one server running Windows Small Business Server 2011 Standard (primary Domain Controller)
     (This server is currently the DNS and DHCP server)
e) one server running Windows Server 2008 R2 (secondary Domain Controller)
f) approximately eight Windows 7 clients (connected via SG-500-28 switch)
g) approximately six printers connected via internal network (connected via SG-500-28 switch)

All the servers, clients, and printers are connected to the SG-500-28 switch.

The ISP provides the cable modem for the internet service.
The physical cable for internet is connected to the cable modem.
From the cable modem, a CAT 6 ethernet cable is connected to the internet (WAN) port of the Netgear N600 router.

A Cat 6 ethernet cable is connected from Port 1 of the local ethernet (LAN) port on the N600 router to the SG-500-28 switch.

cable modem -> WAN router port
LAN router port -> SG-500-28

The ASA 5505 will be setup with an "LAN" (inside) interface and a "WAN" (outside) interface.  Port e0/0 on the ASA 5505 will be used for the outside interface and the remaining ports will be used for the inside interface.