Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510 Firewall

nikhilaluvila
Level 1
Level 1

Dear Team,

As i am new to the firewall terminology.

My scenario is like that we have 3 physical interfaces on firewall , Outside,Inside and Others.In the physical interface "others" we have created 3 sub interfaces.192.168.0.x,192.168.1.x,192.168.3.x.

In our case we have to give internet access to the sub interface 192.168.3.x.Currently "inside" interface have access to the "outside" which means they can access internet.

is it possible to create route for the interfaces,while trying to create route for the interfaces it states that for the same interfaces no need to create route.

I want to pass my 192.168.3.x network (which belongs to users) traffic to the "outside" interface for internet access.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Rahul Govindan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

As long as there is a default route to the Outside interface, inside and the 192.168.3.x network should be able to route to that. A few things to make sure:

1) Sub interface for 192.168.3.x has a higher security level than outside. Otherwise you have to explicitly allow traffic between same security levels.

2) There is a NAT/PAT rule in place for the User sub-interface to reach the internet.

3) ACL on the User sub-interface allows traffic to the internet.

View solution in original post

Attach a santized config to better understand your issue.

Also, the routing is based on destination address and not on source. So it does not matter if it comes from inside or 192.168.3.x subnet, if the destination is an address on the Public internet and your default route points to the outside interface, traffic will be routed there.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Rahul Govindan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

As long as there is a default route to the Outside interface, inside and the 192.168.3.x network should be able to route to that. A few things to make sure: