Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510 SQL Ports

j_patykow
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

My company is currently running a Cisco ASA 5510.  We have been told by our 3rd party point of sale vendor that they are having issues syncing their database and server because they need TCP port 1433 & UDP port 1434 opened on the firewall.  I have been staring at this for a few days now - I have attempted to create Access Rules to open those ports but it doesn't seem to change anything.  I apologize in advance, as I am a novice with these firewalls.

The server and machines attempting to sync up are all on the same domain, so I thought my access rules should be "Inside".  I have tried multiple variations of setups, including having incoming and outgoing rules and using "any" for both IP Addresses and ports.  I have reloaded the device after each change to make sure it was current, but nothing seems to fix the issue.  I understand the device is old and outdated, but they can't afford to upgrade anytime soon.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

4 Replies 4

Aditya Ganjoo
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Since you have allowed any any it should have worked.

Before we move ahead I would request you to test with this config:

The SQL server is listening on UDP/TCP port 1434 , so the client will initiate a connection from a random port above 1025.
So you need to have an ACL to allow the access from Any with random UDP/TCP port going to SQL server on port 1434, so you need to have the command
" range 1 65353 " , and for the returning traffic you need to have an ACL from source port 1434 going to the random destination port.
Since you are accessing the Server from outside to inside , then you need to open the Access on the outside for the incoming traffic
So if you try and remove the ACL that permit the traffic from the SQL server on port 1434 going to the client on random port ,then it should
be fine .

Please check the below link :