Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5520 weird behaviour and advice

george_lytras
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning folks ,

I have an issue with asa 5520 on gns3 ,while i am able to ping loopback addresses i can not ping any physical interfaces.have you experiences such behaviour before? Now i need your advice, i have set up this network but i am new to asa and i am lost.so i need your precious help.i have 4 servers in dmz area .i want to use the public address in the outside interface .Servers will normally have a private addressing scheme i can not see any other option .R3 edge router needs to support easyvpn for remote users .i want to deploy pat in asa ..do you think this is feasible ? i am really confused ...and i do not know what to do .. any recommendations improving the network will be highly appreciated.

topology.png

i use this for guidance but they do not provide the public address between edge router and isp ..so i am not sure what i am doing.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/solutions/Enterprise/Security/SAFE_RG/safemediumentnetworks.html#wp1228755

thanks in advance for your help!!

7 Replies 7

while i am able to ping loopback addresses i can not ping any physical interfaces.have you experiences such behaviour before?

This sounds very much like a virtualization issue.  Have you saved your config and tried restarting the devices?

Is the outside interface on the ASA a public IP address?  From your diagram it looks like the only public IP would be on R3.  In this scenario it would be R3 which does the NATing

--
Please remember to rate and select a correct answer

--
Please remember to select a correct answer and rate helpful posts