cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5545X & Firepower Issues

philipspe
Level 1
Level 1

This is my first time posting here, so bear with me.

Our company runs ASA5545X with Firepower in each of our 2 data centers. For the last 2 years, we have been having an ongoing issue where they stop passing traffic. In the last couple months, it has gotten really bad and happens sometimes multiple times a week requiring us to manually failover to restore services. We have opened multiples tickets with TAC and they don't ever find anything really that points to an issue. We have been instructed to go through multiple code upgrades but issue continues. Most recently this week we have upgraded the SFR's to 6.6.7 and the ASA is at 9.8.4(44). From what we can tell, it seems to be the SFR's causing the issue but I can't confirm anything. When it happens , I can ping the outside interface from our outside polling solution 24x7. From the ASA and our internet router we can ping out to google. You just can't ping from inside the network out or make it past the firewall from outside. Has anyone experienced this kind of issue? It's affecting both data centers and we have 2 units per data center. 

23 Replies 23

Are there any interesting logs generated when this issue happens?

Not that I'm aware of, TAC always ask for Sh tech and coredumps things like that but they never actually ever find anything according to them. The last time it happened was this past Monday and the TAC engineer was seeing the below being spammed every minute. That is when they instructed us to upgrade to 6.6.7 but nothing still explains this ongoing issue for the last 2 years.

Couple months we even asked for physical replacement on one of the units but the issue has persisted.

Not sure, but it seems to be a buggy behaviour of the SFR module. Maybe @Marvin Rhoads came across this issue.

tvotna
Spotlight
Spotlight