Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA Client VPN -> Internal DHCP

cloudops
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to the world of networking and firewalling (I am the SAN/VMware who was given the "you are the network guy tshirt)

I have a ASA 5508-X running 9.4.  

My remote VPN users are currently connecting and are getting IP's from the local IP pool.

What I need, is for them to pull that IP from the internal DHCP server.

Am I correct that I have to do something like the following:

dhcprelay server 1.2.3.4 <Outside IF>

dhcprelay enable LAN

dhcprelay set route LAN

and then I can just go to my connection profile and set the DHCP to the IP of the internal dhcp server

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

For anyconnect VPN you do not dhcprelay configuration on the inside interface.  You just need to set the dhcp-server under the tunnel-group and optionally the dhcp-network-scope under the group-policy.  Just keep in mind that if you do set the dhcp-network-scope the DHCP server needs a route back to the ASA for the scope you define here.

group-policy ANYCONNECT internal

group-policy ANYCONNECT attributes

dhcp-network-scope 10.10.10.0

tunnel-group ANYCONNECT type remote-access

tunnel-group ANYCONNECT general-attributes

dhcp-server 11.11.11.1

--

Please remember to select a correct answer and rate helpful posts

--

View solution in original post

If 192.168.200.0/24 is the old subnet then you need to change this in this subnet.  Encryption happens as the packet is leaving he interface which means NAT will happen before encryption on the way out and after decryption on the way in.

--

--

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

For anyconnect VPN you do not dhcprelay configuration on the inside interface.  You just need to set the dhcp-server under the tunnel-group and optionally the dhcp-network-scope under the group-policy.  Just keep in mind that if you do set the dhcp-network-scope the DHCP server needs a route back to the ASA for the scope you define here.