Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA Loopback Interfaces

paulhughes5
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I'm fairly new to the ASA platform after having spent the last few years on Juniper SRX.

As part of a new project we are looking to integrate some ASA5545s into a new L3VPN platform and as part of this I'd like to have traffic fail-over between sites using routing, the complication comes with how I want to handle IPSEC VPNs.

First question, do ASAs currently support loopback addresses in multi-context mode (if so where do you configure them)?

Second question, can these interfaces then be used to terminate a site to site IPSEC tunnel?

Any help welcome

Thanks

Paul

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The ASA doesn't support the concept of loopback-interfaces. IPsec-VPNs are always terminated on the IP of the interface that protects the traffic.

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

The ASA doesn't support the concept of loopback-interfaces. IPsec-VPNs are always terminated on the IP of the interface that protects the traffic.

Is there an alternative solution to allow the creation of logical interfaces I can advertise via routing protocols?

No, if you need that flexibility four routing-integration, an IOS-router would be the best choice. The ASA is quite limited here.

Oliver Kaiser
Level 7
Level 7

Do you want to implement a firewall service for l3vpn customers? In case you want to build a scalable multi-tenancy solution you might wanna look into ASAv and dedicate a virtual machine for each customer and offer redundancy using a 2nd asa for failover.

Let me know which problems you are trying to solve with your design - maybe there is a viable alternative to l3 failover mechanisms and ipsec failover (which could be achieved using backup peers btw).

regards

Oliver

Hi

I'm working with hardware that's already been purchased so a little stuck when it comes to swapping it out.