Views
Helpful
Replies

Best practice for Global Address?

tcurrence
Level 1
Level 1

Good Morning,

I am new to Cisco firewalls and would like to know what is the best practice for creating an external ip address and port into my network and then redirecting that to a specific machine.  I am thinking of using a global ip address and then only allowing this type of traffic to talk to the specific destnation and on that specific port.  Is this the correct course of action?  Or os there a better or more effecient way of allowing this process using ADSM.

Troy

Message was edited by: Troy Currence

5 Replies 5

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Basically when you are attempting to allow traffic from the external public network to some of your servers/hosts you will either use Static NAT or Static PAT

Static NAT is when you bind a single public IP address to be used by only one internal host. This is usually the preferred option if you can spare a single public IP address for your server, meaning you probably have a small public subnet from your ISP.

Static PAT is when you only allocate certain ports on your public IP address and map them to a local port on the host. This is usually the option when you only have a single public IP address that is configured on your ASAs external interface. Or perhaps in a situation when you just want to conserver your public IP addresses even though you might have a few of them.

In Static NAT case you configure the Static NAT and use the interface ACL to allow the services you require.

In Static PAT you only create a translation for a specific port/service so only connections to that port are possible. Naturally you will also have to allow those services/ports in the interface ACL just like with Static NAT.

Again if you can spare the public IP addresses then I would go with Static NAT or if you only have a single or few IP addresses you can consider Static PAT (Port Forward) also.