Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can't ping from a higher security level to lower security level

Hi All,

I have a Cisco ASA 5520. I understand the basic concept of ASA. I have been reading a lot of articles and i studied ASA courses. All of them are saying "By default you can ping from a higher security level to a lower security level" but the problem is i can't seem to ping any host from a lower security level originating from a host from a higher security level. I turned on ICMP inspection, i still can't ping. I tried doing ACL i still can't ping. I tried global ACL rule, i can ping from low security level going to high security level but when i ping from higher to lower i can't. I'm absolutely confused.

14 Replies 14

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

since twe do not see your config, and what is the device model and ASA code verison running..

hope you have done inspect icmp ?

policy-map global_policy
   class inspection_default
   inspect icmp

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hi, 

I have enabled ICMP inspection in the global-policy and class-inspection_default. I still can't ping. 

Model:  ASA5520

Code Version:"disk0:/asa916-6-k8.bin"

What you see in the FW logs when the ping not allowed ? it would be nice to have some logs see why it dropping.

there may be some ACL rule order may be blocking ?

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Mathias Garcia
Level 1
Level 1
Have you verified that the host on the lower security level does in fact respond to ping?
As in that it doesn't have a firewall blocking the ping.

Also have you tried using the ASA packet tracer tool to try and find out what (if anything) stops the icmp packet?

"Have you verified that the host on the lower security level does in fact respond to ping?
As in that it doesn't have a firewall blocking the ping."