cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ASA 5505, Adding Vlan

isaiasperez77
Level 1
Level 1

Hi my  name is Isaias. I have recently been tasked with a project at work. I am the IT guy for a small law firm. So what they have is a Time Warner Surfboard Router>Asa 5505Firewall, Cisco Switch, Small Business Windows Server 2008. I have been tasked with adding an additional Private Network that will consist of Windows Server 2012 (Domain Controller, DHCP, DNS, File share) that will host 10 Windows 8 PCs. So I am not too experienced with Cisco Firewalls and would like to know how should i proceed in establishing two Vlans on the Firewall to separate the two networks. The server that I will be installing will be handling DHCP>DNS>DC>Fileshare. Where can i go to learn how to use the ASA and configure one of its physical ports as a Vlan and what considerations should i take?  I assume that all i have to do is logon to the Firewall using the Gui  and configure the interface that i will be using with a static address, turn off dhcp for that interface to allow the server to assign addresses? would like some assistance on how this gets done. Thank you.

6 Replies 6

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Well the ASA5505 model has a built in switch module and only uses Vlan interfaces. At a very basic setup it will have 2 different Vlan interface of which 1 is used for the LAN and 1 is used for the WAN.

The amount of Vlan interfaces it support and IF it supports Trunking depends the License on your ASA5505 unit.

This can be confirmed with the command

show version

On the CLI (Command Line Interface) of the ASA while connected to the unit by SSH or Telnet.

So the first step is to know what your ASA5505 License is.

If you ASA is a Base License version then you WONT have support on the ASA for Vlan Trunking. And if we consider that you only have a single Cisco switch for the LAN then you would have to do the following

• Configure a new Vlan on the L2 switch