Views
Helpful
Replies

Clock-Signal Repair Pictures ISR4300, ASA, ISR4400

Bernhard Roth
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

We have many devices affected by the clock-signal issues.

Cisco does replace the units with repaired/fixed ones.

I have received some ISR4321 routers with the fix applied (pictures attached).

The Cisco provided fix is of - well - mediocre quality (loose solder joints etc..) but works.

I am an EE engineer and am able to fix other routers of my customers as well (attached a picture of one of my fixes).

Spot the difference :)

Is there anyone which has received fixed ASA5506, ASA5508 and ISR4331 routers?

Please post pictures of your fix (hi-res if possible)

I ask because I would like to fix them as well (some of my customers) and avoid configuration, license etc. migration.

I am aware that I might void Ciscos warranty by this act of evil :)

Best regards,

Bernhard

85 Replies 85

Thank you!

The fix consists in adding a resistor to the mainboard - yes.

But is is not as simple as the solder pads are very small and any error in soldering or with missing ESD countermeasures will probably cause the device to die.

Having said that, please find attached a picture of 4331 router fix.

The resistor is 150 Ohms with 1% tolerance.

Is is located on the bottom side of the board.

You will have to disassemble almost the complete router.

The quality of that original Cisco fix is MUCH better, their staff seem to get some practice

I have not yet had a fixed 4351 on my bench for documentation :)

I have 2 - 4331 routers, that "are affected", that have been in service for 2.5 years without issue. Would you recommend fixing them before they fail, or leaving them in service and see IF they fail?

If they are "affected" they will break at any time, maybe soon, maybe later.

It may happen that the degradation inside the CPU is already severe and fixing will not avoid it to fail.