Views
Helpful
Replies

Clock-Signal Repair Pictures ISR4300, ASA, ISR4400

Bernhard Roth
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

We have many devices affected by the clock-signal issues.

Cisco does replace the units with repaired/fixed ones.

I have received some ISR4321 routers with the fix applied (pictures attached).

The Cisco provided fix is of - well - mediocre quality (loose solder joints etc..) but works.

I am an EE engineer and am able to fix other routers of my customers as well (attached a picture of one of my fixes).

Spot the difference :)

Is there anyone which has received fixed ASA5506, ASA5508 and ISR4331 routers?

Please post pictures of your fix (hi-res if possible)

I ask because I would like to fix them as well (some of my customers) and avoid configuration, license etc. migration.

I am aware that I might void Ciscos warranty by this act of evil :)

Best regards,

Bernhard

85 Replies 85

If the firewall is already broken, there is no chance to fix it.

The CPU is physically damaged internally and cannot be fixed.

Only when the firewall is still working, applying the fix will prevent the CPU to get bad.

Sorry, the only chance you might have is to send the unit back to Cisco for replacement.

@Bernhard Roth wrote:

If the firewall is already broken, there is no chance to fix it.

The CPU is physically damaged internally and cannot be fixed.

Only when the firewall is still working, applying the fix will prevent the CPU to get bad.

Sorry, the only chance you might have is to send the unit back to Cisco for replacement.